Roses Are Red? – A Minx’s Guide to Valentine’s Day 2017

valentines-day

Hello my dear Minx lovers!

And a Happy Valentine’s Day to you one and all!

As today is Valentine’s Day, I’d like to do a quick run down of this fabulous festive day of delights, and share with you some of my Valentine’s day experiences.

At the moment it’s still Me Myself and I, and therefore I have been flying solo this V Day. Has this ruined my day or week? Am I currently weeping Bridget Jones style into a bottle of vodka, make-up smeared, hysterical and morbidly worrying about dying alone?

Am I fuck.

Next week will be a whole year of being single. One WHOLE year. I haven’t done this since I was 16. It feels like I’m one of the skinny women in a Weight Watchers advert, holding up a photo of me. Here’s what I look like now…

I have a bad habit of falling into (ricocheting between) men and relationships, so it’s been amazing to just be able to focus on me for a change, rather than worrying about pleasing/ upsetting someone else or unconsciously working around someone else’s timetable, friendship group, or even life. At the moment…it’s just me.In terms of V-Day, this meant I got to do EXACTLY what I wanted today.

I’m not having to cook anything, or get dressed up (which involves body prep…the leg shaving alone is exhausting enough to make it not worth it.) I’m not sitting in a crowded restaurant full of couples ignoring each other and playing on phones, wondering why I spent a hour trying to look nice when my date couldn’t even be bothered to iron a shirt.

No. Today, I had a lie in, then did some uni work. I went to my favourite cafe (much love J &J!), I got some free biscuits AND a free caramel yogurty thing (score). I did some more work. I planned my weekend. I had 4 offers of dates tonight (turned them down) and had several very sweet Valentine’s messages. I made of point of sending Valentine’s Day greetings to friends, especially the single guys and girls in my life. I’ve just had a massive salad (covered in prosciutto ham). I’m now curled up with a glass of really cheap Buck’s Fizz listening to Spotify and musing on the offer of a dirty weekend I’ve had for a few weeks time.

For me that is a fucking PERFECT Valentine’s Day. It was literally everything I wanted to do. I received genuine love and affection from people I cared about, and my Valentine’s Day pressies were amazing – free biscuits and caramel things? AWESOME!! 🙂

Reality is, as much as I am a hopeless romantic at heart, I just want to relax and enjoy nice food, drink and company on V Day, and that’s exactly what I did.

In the past…well let’s see. Last year I ended up in a weird platonic orgy…by which I mean I went out with my significant other and his friends to the rugby in Cardiff..so I didn’t bother dressing up, which surprised him. To this day I don’t get why. It was a fun day out, but romantic? No.  I do feel bad that he made me a card and I bought him one a bit late, but in fairness, I’d tried to do something romantic for Christmas which he’d been vocally unhappy about, and I’d stopped caring….the SS Romance was clearly sinking. Anyway, it was a bit confusing, mostly due to different expectations and ideas….and I learned that romance isn’t a group activity. I still have the card though…that was incredibly sweet, especially as it was unexpected.

Other Valentine’s Days with boyfriends have included flowers, jewellery, meals….one guy was a chef and made me the most gorgeous champagne breakfast in bed. I’ve been wined and dined and it was all nice…but….well…not to be ungrateful, but things like the homemade cards….or the book of poetry bought in a charity shop….the gestures that were specifically for me….those are the ones I loved the most.

As for being single….I’ve had some cracking single Valentine’s Days as well. Use it as some bonding time with your friends. I’ve been to four strip shows on Valentine’s Day, and they were all incredibly funny, fun, eye popping nights out. Me and the girls got completely rat-arsed and saw an interesting mix of naked men, from the slightly chunkier dude with a cock like a marrow, to the slicker swisher strip groups straight out of London, all abs and six packs and baby oil, capable of making even this love hardened Minx blush.

Being with someone on is no guarantee of success or romance, and being single doesn’t mean that the day is going to be a complete write off either.

If you’re feeling a bit lonely or shit this year, grab a drink, grab a steak, grab a mate, grab the remote…whatever. Stop screaming, crying, sulking, stressing, shouting, pouting, or ranting. Take charge and make it YOURS.

Just because it’s Valentine’s Day, doesn’t mean it has to be a massacre. 😉

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

love,

littlewelshminx

 

 

 

About littlewelshminx

I'm a Welsh girl in my 30s, living and working in south Wales. I like reading, writing, watching films (especially things that make me laugh) hanging out with friends, going to bars to drink and dance playing guitar (badly) listening to lots of different types of music (opera to dance to bluegrass to rock) going to the theatre, and I've recently started swimming. I have 2 degrees, and have had lots and lots of different jobs, including working as a barmaid, waitress, KP, shop assistant, admin assistant, events, sales, PR, marketing....writing suits me best. I will be writing about sex from as many angles as possible - from personal experience, through academia, history, geography, culture, myth, legend, fact and fiction. What is sexy? What turns us on? What do we really think and feel about sex? If you like what you read, please follow me, and pass it on :)
This entry was posted in love, Romance, Uncategorized, Valentine's Day, Valentine's Day for couples, Valentine's Day for singles. Bookmark the permalink.

HI! If you like what you read, or have anything to share, please leave a comment.

