Songs to help with a breakup and moving on Part 2

HowToBeSingle

Hello minxes!

Had your music inspired emotional exorcism? Feeling better? Good – and about fucking time!

The second part of this list is for when you’ve had your cry / rant, a few weeks and months have gone by, and you realise that you are still awesome, and you’re ready to pull your shit together, and move on.

OK one of my top dance tunes to get this list going.

Just a Little More Love – David Guetta Wally Lopez remix. This is a really bouncy, positive tune that always makes me smile and gets me moving. Lyrics are upbeat and basically does what it says on the tin “Just a little more love /Just a little more peace/ Is all it takes to live the dream”.

Queen – I Want to Break Free . Amazing beat to this track, one of my favourites by Queen. It’s all about embracing and loving yourself first. As Freddie says

“God knows got to make it on my own”

I’m Still Standing – Elton John. “I’m still standing after all this time / Picking up the pieces of my life without you on my mind”. Really upbeat song that shows life goes on and you can go on, I love its defiance.

Things Can Only Get Better – D:Ream. I’m a huge fan of early 90s dance, and I fucking love this tune. It was well before my dancing/clubbing days, but I can remember listening to this type of music and my face just lighting up. The combination of the dance beats in this track plus the unwavering blind optimism of the lyrics always makes me smile.

“I look at things now in a different light than I did before” – that’s a solid plan for anyone feeling a bit lost.

Country Girl (Shake It For Me) – Luke Bryan. I was introduced to this dude by a very dear friend a few years back (thanks Bear!) and every time I need a bit of cheering up I just stick this video on. It’s a great song with a dirty country/rock vibe and I just love watching that man shake his ass. This has given me serious Cowboy issues. Grrrr.

All Right Now – Free. One of the staple tunes in my personal songbook that has been there for as long as I can remember. A celebration of freedom and free love, an eternal anthem for grabbing and living in the moment. Carpe Diem baby.

 

And finally…Dangerzone – Kenny Loggins.

As regular readers will know, I am a HUGE fan of Top Gun, and this song is one of the reasons why. I love everything about it – the 80s power chords, the instantly recognisable riff, the vaguely abstract lyrics encouraging a speed obsession. Magic, pure and simple.

So these are my tunes for feeling awesome. Hopefully you’ve spotted at least one that you can identify with, but if not – get off your arse and go and make your own feel good playlist.

Music has always been an integral part of relationships, from the courtship stage, to the celebration of love, and is equally important on the other side when things go tits up and you’re hurting.

Music is a huge part of my life and there is always a song that will be able to awaken, or encourage you to tap into feelings, invoke a memory, or energise you into feeling better.

Breakups suck. Playlists don’t have to.

Find some mates, stick some tunes on and get back out there.

Have an awesome day minx lovers.

xxxxxxxxx

littlewelshminx

 

About littlewelshminx

I'm a Welsh girl in my 30s, living and working in south Wales. I like reading, writing, watching films (especially things that make me laugh) hanging out with friends, going to bars to drink and dance playing guitar (badly) listening to lots of different types of music (opera to dance to bluegrass to rock) going to the theatre, and I've recently started swimming. I have 2 degrees, and have had lots and lots of different jobs, including working as a barmaid, waitress, KP, shop assistant, admin assistant, events, sales, PR, marketing....writing suits me best. I will be writing about sex from as many angles as possible - from personal experience, through academia, history, geography, culture, myth, legend, fact and fiction. What is sexy? What turns us on? What do we really think and feel about sex? If you like what you read, please follow me, and pass it on :)
This entry was posted in Being single, breakup songs, breakups, How to get over my ex, music, songs to help with a breakup, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

HI! If you like what you read, or have anything to share, please leave a comment.

