A Minx’s Guide to Valentine’s Day – for Singles

Valentine's Day Sucks

Right it’s over and I think….. (checking for any stray couples)….yeah, they’ve gone.

So, my dear single readers, as you’ve probably guessed, this post will be dedicated to the other side of the coin.

Valentine’s Day…..What a load of complete and utter bollocks! It’s not just the fact that, like a Tory Tax break, it seems to exclude huge chunks of the population with very little thought….people in bad relationships, people who are single through choice, currently separated, recently divorced, widowed, or people taking time to be by themselves (yes, sheepish wave from yours truly). This year it was BLOODY EVERYWHERE.

Get your car serviced….for Valentine’s Day. Text offers from Dominoes….for their Valentine’s Day specials. Emails from recruitment agencies I haven’t contacted in 3 years….with little hearts, suggesting I get a new job for Valentine’s Day.

Tesco had an entire aisle that looked like it had been decorated by a 3 year old girl…..hearts and pink and red all over the place, and it goes so much further than cards, and flowers…..the dvd section was completely messed up, as someone had rearranged everything into “girly films” and “other”.

I get it….it’s a day to be romantic and to celebrate love. What about the rest of the year? Do people really need such blatant reminders to show their other half that they care? Is romance so dead that unless you have three weeks of love hearts and pink and red smothered all over the place that people forget the little gestures? And it just goes so far….almost as if you don’t celebrate in the right way, spend the right amount of money, that you’re setting yourself up for failure. Which is a failure in itself.

It all comes down to aiming for the fairy tale…..but who wrote the story in the first place? And why does it only have to be about romantic love? Where are the Valentine’s cards for the friends you love? For the other kinds of love in your life?

I actually had a card this year……it was from a very dear friend, and she made it herself. It has a half naked fireman on it, and I can honestly say, it was one of the best Valentine’s Day cards I’ve ever received. 🙂 When you’re single, and romantic love isn’t featuring in your life, it’s these kind of relationships that get you through, and make you smile. I think it’s a damn shame that there isn’t a day for that as well.

So things to do/be grateful for on Valentine’s Day next year if you’re single……

1. Eat WHATEVER you want. One thing I’ve noticed recently is that I seem to keep ending up with fussier eaters. No fish, no veg, and a shed load of junk food was a big part of my last relationship. Now I’m single, I can eat what I want, when I want, not have to cater for someone else’s tastes, or feel guilty about the cost and calories of a take away. Also…..and forgive me for this one, but I don’t like sharing food. Of any kind. EVER. Not only did I eat what I wanted yesterday, but I got to eat ALL of it. Nom nom.

2. Buy flowers….for yourself. I love flowers. I surprised myself a few years back by discovering, after years of fighting it, that I really love gardening. I’m still a beginner (not helped at the moment by a lack of garden) but over the last few years I’ve had a go, and started reading and learning more about plants. And I LOVE flowers. Especially great big obnoxiously bright ones. And I never seem to remember to buy any for myself. So next year, I’m getting flowers for me.

3. Watch something YOU want to watch. It’s the same argument as the food. Relationships are all about compromise and sharing, and one of the massive perks of being single is that you get to be completely, 100% selfish with film/ TV choices. I do try to mix it up, but i’m not a big fan of films containing shit dialogue, shit acting, too many explosions….not my thing. And there have been MANY boyfriends who not only love these, but get perplexed when I suggest watching something I want to see for a change. This weekend I have mostly be watching the 1954 version of Sabrina, and I’m going to top it off with 300 (THIS IS SPARTA!), possibly followed by the Star Wars trilogy tomorrow. Perfect.

4. You don’t get The Look. You KNOW the look. The “I’ve-done-something-nice-for-you-hey-is-that-an-erection-in-my-pocket-fancy-giving-me-a-blowjob?” look. You don’t find yourself kissing someone one minute, then having your head pushed down the next. You don’t end up with lock jaw, which is far more likely on Valentine’s Day, especially if you’ve both had a few drinks. Stop me if this sounds familiar….

“Why are you stopping?”
“Oh baby, i’m really close. (10 mins later) Yeah….oh god, really close…”
“What do you mean you’re tired/you can’t breath?”

5. Thanks for the wonders of modern technology, there are many ways to entertain YOURSELF on Valentine’s Day. And as lovely as sex with another person can be, going solo can be amazing as well.

Valentine’s Day is just that. One day. It may not be fun, or easy to see that love is all around, but being single doesn’t mean you’re Bridget Jones. Also, relationships aren’t all romance and sunshine… and I’ve spoken to plenty of people in couples who look at us and remember the joys of being single. The grass is always greener as they say, but that works both ways.

Happy Valentine’s to all my single minxes out there.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
littlewelshminx

About littlewelshminx

I'm a Welsh girl in my 30s, living and working in south Wales. I like reading, writing, watching films (especially things that make me laugh) hanging out with friends, going to bars to drink and dance playing guitar (badly) listening to lots of different types of music (opera to dance to bluegrass to rock) going to the theatre, and I've recently started swimming. I have 2 degrees, and have had lots and lots of different jobs, including working as a barmaid, waitress, KP, shop assistant, admin assistant, events, sales, PR, marketing....writing suits me best. I will be writing about sex from as many angles as possible - from personal experience, through academia, history, geography, culture, myth, legend, fact and fiction. What is sexy? What turns us on? What do we really think and feel about sex? If you like what you read, please follow me, and pass it on :)
This entry was posted in Being single, blow jobs, kiss, love, lust, orgasms, relationships, Romance, Sex, Single, Valentine's Day, Valentine's Day for singles. Bookmark the permalink.

HI! If you like what you read, or have anything to share, please leave a comment.

